History

Zertifikat

KEYNES looks back on a history of more than 65 years:

1950

The entrepreneurs Willem Keyer and Henck Ness form a partnership in the Netherlands with the aim of providing engineering services to the chemical process industry. The company is named after its founders: ”KEYer NESs“

Mr Keyer’s wealth of ideas combined with Mr Ness’ knack for picking the right people pave the way for a successful start.

Both founders believe in maximum customer involvement in the plant design process and onsite provision of their engineering services.

The young company sets up its own Model Construction department. At that time this is a completely novel method imported from the USA to maximize design accuracy in plant engineering projects. With piping drawings – the piping engineering documentation method used in Germany until then - the accuracy level was typically in the range of 75 to 80 %. Visualizing the piping design in the model and isometric drawings increased the accuracy level to 95-97 %. Initially, the material for model construction had to be procured from the USA.

1960

Establishment of KEYNES Planungsgesellschaft mbH headquartered in Düsseldorf.

The company’s experienced engineers provide engineering services both onsite at the customers’ offices and from KEYNES’ Düsseldorf headoffice. The result of the engineering process is transferred to a physical model, initially made of metal, later on of plastics.

1963

Klaus Plänk joins the company and develops its business within Germany. Under his management, the company experiences continuous growth, employing some 160 people. KEYNES engineers are deployed to customers’ sites from Hamburg to Munich.

1981

The Hamburg branch office with ultimately 12 people on its payroll is opened. Dipl-Ing. Klaus Walter joins the company to head the Hamburg operation. In 1998, he takes over the Hamburg branch which has since been operating as an independent entity under the name of Keynes Walter Planungsgesellschaft mbH.

At the same time, KEYNES opens its Uerdingen branch office.

1991

Relocation from Düsseldorf to the new office building in Neuss. With this move, the model construction and engineering activities are united under one roof.

In parallel, computer-aided design embarks on its triumphant conquest of the engineering world. Like model construction – initially smiled upon - 3D design tools gain a firm foothold in plant design. The industry places high hopes in this novel technology, expecting, in particular, reduced staff requirements, i.e. one 3D designer instead of a designer and a model constructor, prevention of errors and collisions, facilitated material management and, of course, a 50 % cut in design costs and shorter project lifecycles.

Not all of these hopes have come true. The fact is that intelligent 3D piping design eventually displaced model construction so that, after a transition phase, the Model Construction department was closed down in 2003/2004.

1997

Quality plant engineering does not happen by chance!  KEYNES introduces a certified quality management system according to DIN EN ISO 9001, ensuring disciplined and proper documentation which may not always be fun – but makes lots of sense.  

1998

The managing shareholder Klaus Plänk hands over the helm of the successful company to Dipl.- Ing. Dieter Timmé and has been maintaining close ties with the company to this very day.

June 2001 October 2003

• Partnering with “M-Plan“ and “EMP“ in the KME joint venture, KEYNES undertakes the detail engineering for the TAD facility in Dormagen. The scope of work for this contract (worth EUR 14 million for KME) includes the detail engineering for vessels, piping and I&C, procurement services and engineering field support.The design software selected for this mega-project comprising 650 vessels and 5600 piping lines is PDS-3D. At peak times, 73 employees of KME are working on the project. The project is carried out under the management of KEYNES Planungsgesellschaft mbH.

2010

The managing shareholder Dipl.- Ing. Dieter Timmé hands over the helm of the successful company to Dipl.- Ing. Markus Böke.
Currently, Mr. Böke is heading a team of some 100 specialists serving all „mechanical“ plant engineering areas.

2012 to 2013

The Keynes Planungsgesellschaft mbH receives the order for installation and pipeline planning of a world scale plant of the Covestro AG for production of the chemical TDI, a central component of high-quality foam. The total investment of this plant amounts to 400 million Euros. With our work we could make an outstanding contribution to international competitiveness of the chemical industry location North-Rhine Westphalia.

2014 to 2015

It makes us proud and confirms our consistent advancement: We are awarded the contract for installation and pipeline planning of the largest pharmaceutical investment of the Bayer AG in Wuppertal. It is a new plant for the production of VIII drugs for treatment of the so-called haemophilia.

2015

During the last few years 3D laser scanning has established itself in the area of plant planning as an efficient recording method of complex industrial plants and to an increasing degree supplements conventional measurement methods.

With own know-how and equipment the Keynes Planungsgesellschaft mbH has firmly established 3-D laser scanning in the planning process of plant construction and can therefore particularly meet the expectations of our customers as regards needs-based inventory recording with high-quality data.

2016

Key word: sustainability

The Keynes Planungsgesellschaft mbH considers environmental protection, social welfare and economical wealth as objectives of equal ranking.

We successfully pass a sustainability audit within the scope of the “together-for-sustainability-initiative“ of the chemical industry.

Geschichte

Zertifikat

KEYNES blickt auf eine über 65-jährige Entwicklung zurück:

1950

Die Geschäftsleute Willem Keyer und Henck Ness gründen das Ingenieurunternehmen „KEYNES in den Niederlanden mit dem Ziel, Ingenieurdienstleistungen für die chemische Industrie anzubieten. Den Namen bilden sie aus ihren Anfangsbuchstaben: „KEYer NESs“

Herr Keyers Ideenreichtum und Herr Ness´ gutes Händchen bei der Auswahl der Mitarbeiter sind die Basis für den Start eines erfolgreichen Unternehmens.

Beide legen besonderen Wert auf die gemeinsame Planung vor Ort bei und mit ihren Kunden.

Das junge Unternehmen gründet die Abteilung „Modellbau“. Das ist - zu dieser Zeit - eine ganz neue, aus den USA importierte Methode, um die Fehlerhäufigkeit in der Anlagenplanung zu reduzieren. Bei der bis dahin in Deutschland üblichen Dokumentationsform für Rohrleitungsplanung – den Rohrleitungsplänen – liegt diese bei ca. 20-25 %. Die Visualisierung im Modell und in Isometrien reduziert diese Quote auf ca. 3–5 %! Das Material für den Modellbau muss anfangs umständlich aus den USA bezogen werden.

1960

Gründung der KEYNES Planungsgesellschaft mbH mit Sitz in Düsseldorf.

Die erfahrenen Ingenieure planen sowohl vor Ort beim Kunden als auch in Büroräumen in Düsseldorf. Das Ergebnis der Planung wird ins Modell gebracht – zunächst aus Metall, später aus Kunststoff.

1963

Herr Klaus Plänk kommt zum Unternehmen und baut es innerhalb Deutschlands auf. Unter seiner Führung wächst KEYNES auf ca. 160 Mitarbeiter . Die Planer sind bei Kunden von Hamburg bis München im Einsatz.

1981

Eröffnung der Zweigstelle in Hamburg, die bis zu 12 Mitarbeiter beschäftigen wird. Als Büroleiter wird Dipl.-Ing. Klaus Walter eingestellt. Er übernimmt 1998 die Geschäftsstelle, die seitdem als „Keynes Walter Planungsgesellschaft mbH“ selbständig weiter besteht.

Auch die Geschäftsstelle Uerdingen entsteht zu dieser Zeit.

1991

Umzug von Düsseldorf in den Neubau in Neuss. Dadurch werden Modellbauwerkstatt und Büro an einem Ort zusammengelegt.

Parallel beginnt der rasante Siegeszug der computergestützten Anlagenplanung. Ähnlich wie der Modellbau zunächst belächelt, setzen sich die 3D-Planungssysteme durch. Die Branche verspricht sich davon die Reduzierung von zwei Mitarbeitern (Konstrukteur + Modellbauer) auf einen 3D-Konstrukteur , die Vermeidung aller Fehler und Kollisionen, die Vereinfachung der Materialwirtschaft und natürlich halbierte Planungskosten und kürzere Projektlaufzeiten.

Nicht alle dieser erhofften Vorteile sind eingetroffen. Fakt ist, dass die „Intelligente Rohrleitungsplanung mit 3D-Systemen“ den Modellbau verdrängt hat, so dass nach einer Übergangsphase 2003 /2004 die Modellbauabteilung geschlossen wird. 

1997

Qualität in der Anlagenplanung ist kein Zufall! Seit 1997 belegt die DIN EN ISO 9001 Zertifizierung, dass unsere disziplinierte und ordentliche Dokumentation nicht immer Spaß macht – aber jede Menge Sinn!  

1998

Als geschäftsführender Gesellschafter übergibt Klaus Plänk an Dipl.-Ing. Dieter Timmé die Führung des erfolgreichen Unternehmens und ist ihm bis heute verbunden.

Juni 2001 Oktober 2003

Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern „M-Plan“ und „EMP“ wickeln wir als „Arge KME“ das Detail Engineering für die TAD – Anlage, Dormagen ab. Der Leistungsumfang dieses Auftrags (Volumen für KME ca. 14 Mio. EUR) beinhaltet das Detail Engineering für Apparate, Rohrleitungen und PLT, Beschaffungsdienstleistungen und „Engineering Field Support“. Die Anlage mit 650 Apparaten und 5.600 Rohrleitungen wird mit Intergraph PDS-3D geplant. Zu Spitzenzeiten sind 73 Mitarbeiter der Arge KME in Neuss im Einsatz. Die Projektleitung und Federführung dieses ARGE-Projektes liegt bei der KEYNES Planungsgesellschaft mbH.

2010

Als geschäftsführender Gesellschafter übergibt Dipl.-Ing. Dieter Timmé an Dipl.-Ing. Markus Böke die Führung des erfolgreichen Unternehmens. Herr Böke leitet aktuell ein Spezialistenteam für alle Bereiche der „mechanischen“ Anlagenplanung - eine Mannschaft von ca. 100 Mitarbeitern!

2012 bis 2013

Die Keynes Planungsgesellschaft mbH erhält den Auftrag für die Aufstellungs- und Rohrleitungsplanung einer „World Scale Anlage“ der Covestro AG zur Produktion der Chemikalie TDI, einer zentralen Komponente für hochwertigen Schaumstoff. Die Gesamtinvestition dieser Anlage beläuft sich auf 400 Mio €. Mit unserer Arbeit konnten wir einen herausragenden Beitrag zur internationalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Chemie-Standortes Nordrhein-Westfalen leisten.

2014 bis 2015

Es macht uns stolz und bestätigt unsere zielstrebige Weiterentwicklung: Wir erhalten den Zuschlag zur Aufstellungs- und Rohrleitungsplanung für die größte Pharma-Investition der Bayer AG in Wuppertal. Es handelt sich dabei um eine Neuanlage für die Herstellung von Faktor-VIII-Medikamenten zur Behandlung der sogenannten Bluterkrankheit.

2015

3D Laserscanning hat sich im Bereich der Anlagenplanung in den letzten Jahren als effiziente Erfassungsmethode von komplexen Industrieanlagen etabliert und ergänzt zunehmend konventionelle Aufmaß-Methoden.

Die Keynes Planungsgesellschaft mbH hat mit eigenem Know How und Equipment das 3D-Laserscanning im Planungsprozess des Anlagenbaus fest verankert und kann daher die Erwartungshaltung unserer Auftraggeber in Bezug auf bedarfsgerechter Bestandserfassung mit qualitativ hochwertigen Daten in besonderem Maße erfüllen.

2016

Stichwort: Nachhaltigkeit

Die Keynes Planungsgesellschaft mbH betrachtet den Umweltschutz, soziales Wohlergehen und den wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand als gleichrangige Ziele.

Wir bestehen erfolgreich ein Nachhaltigkeits-Audit im Rahmen der „Together-for-Sustainability-Initiative“ der chemischen Industrie.